Live Not in the Future

“If you are depressed you are living in the past.
If you are anxious you are living in the future.
If you are at peace you are living in the present.”
— Lao Tzu

I have felt caught up in my headspace too much, trying to convince myself into thinking “Well, if I worry, things can’t be worse than my imagined fears.” But my imagined fears were worse than reality.

For a few weeks, I had heard a pet running around at night in the apartment above. Based on my lease, I assumed that the tenants above were also not allowed to have pets. Because I was already having trouble falling asleep, in frustration I imagined that it was a dog that was being kept inside all day.

So Monday I tried to talk face-to-face; since they didn’t answer the door, I left a letter explaining that the running about was disturbing my sleep. After I finished unpacking from the weekend I found a note that they had left when I was in my room. It turns out all this time it was two kittens (that the property owners approved) that had been playing, not a cooped up dog.

The reality of the situation was definitely not as worse as I was expecting, particularly since my neighbors mentioned that they would try to keep the kittens from playing late at night.

I had forgotten not only to live in the present, but also forgot that procrastinating can lead to an overabundance of frustration.

Leave a Reply

